The One about My Mind

What is the one thing that you want so badly? If asked to any other person, I presume that girlfriend or money are the first things that comes his mind. But for me, being a sapiosexual and a relentless thinker, all I need is a five minutes of absolute silence in my mind.

All my mornings start with my mind still floating half side in a very dreadful nightmare and other half responding to the nagging person trying to wake me up. I talk groggy at first but then stop saying extraneous ridiculous stuffs from my sleep. I check the clock which scares the shit out of me every single time. Take a look at all the unchecked notifications in my phone. After constantly staring at two random objects to my right and to my left, I get up and look at the mirror. We all need mirrors to remind ourselves who we are. Out of nowhere, I instantly get mental picture of the list of all the things that I should do in that particular day. From that point, my mind becomes one crazy shouter of a kind.

Everything gets bizarre once my mind starts to talk. I can bear when it talks to me in my own voice, but it becomes intolerable when it starts to ape people. Sometimes it echoes catchy dialogues from movies and serials but most of the times, it corrects people’s flaws in grammar, the way they behave. Although I put a bright face and react, inside of me-resides an analyzer that never seems to stop exploring.

I am really interested in knowing if the following thing happens to you. The thing is my mind starts to think at very little activities to a great extent and make them so complex that it seems to devour all my memory. Care to elaborate? Oh yea.

So I am sitting near a window just using my phone and scratching my scalp. A random thought suddenly comes out of nowhere. I SHOULD GET A HAIR CUT. Oh wait, for that, I need to go to nearby village. No buses at this time so obviously the bike. Shit, I’m still a beginner. What if some stranger stops me for a lift?

(I could just ignore but the party shouldn’t stop rite? And it continues)   

In almost 6 months, I’m gonna be an engineer working at Bangalore. It has very busy traffic. How will I ride in such a big city? Everything’s gonna be new. Will I be one of those people from corporate offices who have got no free time at all? I have to write GRE and then life in US!

You got me? From getting a haircut to life in US. This is how chaotic it is. It gets even worse if I am traveling alone and I have nothing to read or my phone’s battery is empty. In day time, all I worry about how salty my breakfast was. During nights, if I sleep late, its reaches are up to quantum theory, relativity theory, the fifth dimension. Now, you must be clearly knowing why I had asked for five minutes of absolute silence in my mind.

Please Share your thoughts. I want to know if you ever had these kind of experiences

18 thoughts on “The One about My Mind

  1. It used to happen to me a lot before, but I trained myself to focus on one point and not stray from it with a train of thoughts led by each other. So, dont worry. You are not alone in this 🙂

  2. I am super envious of people who can shut off their minds. I will ruminate til I will have to live off two hours of sleep. And no, I do not think in straight lines of relevancy. Sometimes it will wander a jump from subject to subject. Sometimes it will be good and other times it will be over stressing about things I can control. Gotta take life with the good and the bad. Maybe start reading books so you can concentrate on that instead of going through an endless loop of thoughts. It used to help me a little bit.

  3. Bang on!
    I have such a restless mind that when I decided to sleep at a particular time, I have to go to bed at least two hours before.
    Because the relentless thoughts that follow once I hit the pillow can be quite a handful! Not only while sleeping, it happens through out the day but I manage to find distractions there.
    Anyway I listen to Lana Del Ray and she puts me to sleep 😉 😛

Leave a Reply

