The Bunker Bed Conundrum.

If only I could foresee the shocks life brings in front me, I can bother less about all the strangeness that surrounds me. It is not like I haven’t said this in my other blog posts. It is just that it keeps repeating as if there was a recurring pattern of dreadful climaxes. Every month that has passed by has left me with one strange incident that makes me look at the month in a different way.

Like

August – “The month I pushed the toilet door on a guy since he hadn’t closed the door with the sign ENGAGED”

September – “The month I sat on a ladies seat and almost got fined 200Rs”

October- ” The month I saw a guy doing online Lingerie shopping”

November- “The month I started sleeping on Bunker beds”

Yes, People Yes. Just yesterday, I moved to a new PG where there are only bunker beds. Even though, the bed has a safety iron rail that stops me from falling down, I am just too over conscious sometimes. What if I roll over and my obituary reads “death by falling off a bed”. I entered the room hoping that I will get the bottom cot since I hate climbing a smaller mount Everest every 10 minutes. My hopes vanished as I clearly saw the bottom cots occupied by a college student who was busy preparing for internals.

I introduced myself to my new roommates. It was indeed a great conversation. I said, “I feel like quitting my job and doing higher studies”. They both gave a similar stare and replied, “We feel like quitting our college as soon as possible and start working”. What an interesting contrasts in interests. One guy, dared to ask me “How did you end up here?”.

Where do I begin? Should I start with how I chose CS when there were 10 other branches I didn’t notice? Or how I had a wrong thinking that I knew enough to make decisions on my own? Or to the day I wrote CET with no idea of what is the atomic number of nitrogen? Or to the day I chose to study PCMB?

I broke down all of it to a simple sentence as ” I did BE and here I am looking like a clown”. They nodded and asked, “So you are an engineer right?”.

“I am actually an SQA. See there are developers, testers, designers and…..” I stopped looking at their blank faces.

“Is it like starks, Lannisters from Game of thrones?”

I high fived the guy telling him that I am a big fan of the game of thrones too.

“Look, in that case, I am a seven-faced god” I chuckled.

“Bro, I am still in 3rd season”. I mollified him saying that it wasn’t a spoiler.

I was confused. After placing everything in the cupboard, I stood in front of the cot thinking, how am I gonna climb this thing, how am I gonna cover it with a bedsheet. Somehow I went up and arranged my things. It was time for dinner. I sat up straight thinking again – how am I gonna get down?

Later, I avoided going up to my bed and spent the most time sitting on a chair reading novel and chatting. When I felt my conversations had no point and I had lost concentration in reading the book, I turned back to see if they were still reading. They still were. The other guy asked another blunder of a question.

“Anna, can I play Telugu Songs on the loudspeaker, because if I use headphones, my head will start to throb”. Actually, My head had already had started.

“Yes, you can. No problem”. I lied to them so that I don’t look like a dick on the first day itself.

An hour passed and it was getting quiet as each second passed. I am getting used to this quietness these days. There is only one person who speaks with me – my inner voice. Dude, what are you doing with your life? I tried to shut him up, but it was a vain attempt. I got up, climbed the Everest and the drama happened.

When I was climbing up, the guy sleeping in the below bed woke up and looked at me in his sleepy eyes. Then, he was asleep the next moment. I kept my phone aside setting an alarm and covered myself. I rolled to the left side of the cot that is away from the safety iron rails. It was lightning outside and it was like someone was aiming flashing lights at me through the window. So I rolled over to the other side and the whole bed moved like the earth shook. The guy below woke up very much pissed and he might have rolled as well. And readers, as you may recall from physics,

s1-1-1

The equilibrium was disturbed and the system was in an utter chaos. I rolled towards the window because the side that I was sleeping now wasn’t my regular side and change is never good. The guy rolled again but this time with an irritating sound “Tchhh”. How can I not get disturbed by the fact that I am disturbing a guy? This continued for few more minutes and he woke up and asked, “Could you stop doing that, please?”. Let’s not overthink what he asked but the way he asked was “Stop having hypothetical sex”.

My alarms couldn’t wake me up the next day and the guy below poked me and said, “Dude, It’s 8, we are leaving for college”. I was relegated from being called BRO to DUDE. I had lost it. As I sit now facing at the clock to go near 7:30, I am thinking, What in the fresh hell is going to happen today.

9 thoughts on “The Bunker Bed Conundrum.

Leave a Reply

